Paychex Flex
Best Paychex Flex Alternatives
10 products that do the same job as Paychex Flex, matched to the reason you might switch, with similarity scores and published prices.
LeadChange may earn a fee when you request pricing through our site or follow a sponsored link. Rankings never depend on whether a vendor pays us.We may earn a fee.
How we make money
LeadChange may earn a fee when you request pricing through our site or follow a sponsored link. Rankings never depend on whether a vendor pays us.
Paychex Flex alternatives, closest first
OnPaySimilarity 88
QuickBooks PayrollSimilarity 75GustoSimilarity 73
Alternatives by reason for switching
Lower published price
$117 a month at 25 employees vs $164 for Paychex Flex.
$17/mo + $4/employee/mo (you file taxes)1
Published pricing
Built for larger companies
Higher LeadChange Score
8.1/10 in Payroll Software vs 7.2 for Paychex Flex.
Paychex Flex alternatives, closest first
Products built for the same job come first, then products that also cover it, each group by similarity: the share of categories (50%), company sizes served (30%) and pricing model (20%) a product shares with Paychex Flex.
Built for the same job

OnPay
vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 7.6 vs 7.2.
OnPay vs Paychex FlexOnPay plans and prices
Similarity88 of 100From $49/mo + $6/employee/mo (Payroll Essentials plan)4

QuickBooks Payroll
vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 8.8 vs 7.2.
QuickBooks Payroll vs Paychex FlexQuickBooks Payroll plans and prices
Similarity75 of 100From $50/mo + $7/employee/mo2
Gusto
vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 8.1 vs 7.2.
Gusto vs Paychex FlexGusto pricing
Similarity73 of 100From $49/mo + $6/employee/mo5

Patriot Payroll
vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 9.3 vs 7.2.
Similarity68 of 100From $17/mo + $4/employee/mo (you file taxes)1

ADP RUN Powered by ADP
vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 3.8 vs 7.2.
ADP RUN Powered by ADP vs Paychex FlexWhat ADP RUN Powered by ADP costs
Similarity65 of 100
Square Payroll
vs Paychex Flex: No list price or score published for both Square Payroll and Paychex Flex yet.
Square Payroll vs Paychex FlexSquare Payroll plans and prices
Similarity60 of 100From $35/mo + $6/employee/mo6

SurePayroll
vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 5.0 vs 7.2.
SurePayroll vs Paychex FlexSurePayroll pricing
Similarity60 of 100From $20/mo + $4/employee/mo (you file taxes)7

Paycor
vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 6.3 vs 7.2.
Paycor vs Paychex FlexPaycor pricing
Similarity41 of 100
Netchex
vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 4.8 vs 7.2.
Netchex vs Paychex FlexWhat Netchex costs
Similarity39 of 100
Also cover what Paychex Flex does
Paylocity
vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 5.6 vs 7.2.
Paylocity vs Paychex FlexPaylocity plans and prices
Similarity60 of 100
Why buyers look beyond Paychex Flex
Most packages are priced by request
Basic, Foundations, Advanced and Complete show Request Pricing with no published price. The Essentials price sits on a separate page that the comparison page does not link to.
Extra fees on Flex Essentials
On Flex Essentials, tax administration may carry added fees, and W-2s and 1099s cost extra. Paychex publishes no amounts for these.
Insurance and time tracking are add-ons
Workers' comp, health insurance, retirement plans and time and attendance are add-ons for every package, priced by quote.
Support level depends on the package
Basic includes online help and chat. Phone and email support start at Foundations, and a payroll specialist comes with Complete.
Paychex Flex vs its closest alternatives
| Product | Score | Starting price per employee | Starting base fee | Pricing model | Free trial | Open API | SOC 2 Type II |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Paychex Flex8,9 | 7.2 | $5/employee/mo | $39/mo | Base fee + per employee | Not disclosed | Yes | Not disclosed |
OnPay4,10,11 | 7.6 | $6/employee/mo | $49/mo | Base fee + per employee | Yes | Not disclosed | Yes |
QuickBooks Payroll2,12,13 | 8.8 | $7/employee/mo | $50/mo | Base fee + per employee | Yes | No | Yes |
| 8.1 | $6/employee/mo | $49/mo | Base fee + per employee | No | Yes | Not disclosed | |
Patriot Payroll1,16 | 9.3 | $4/employee/mo | $17/mo | Base fee + per employee | Yes | Not disclosed | Yes |
ADP RUN Powered by ADP17,18 | 3.8 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Quote only | No | Yes | Not disclosed |
Square Payroll6,19 | Not scored | $6/employee/mo | $35/mo | Base fee + per employee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Yes |
SurePayroll7,20 | 5.0 | $4/employee/mo | $20/mo | Base fee + per employee | No | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
Not disclosed = the vendor doesn’t publish it.
Paychex Flex comparisons
Alternatives to similar products
Frequently asked questions
What are the best alternatives to Paychex Flex?
The closest alternatives to Paychex Flex in Payroll Software are OnPay (88% similar), QuickBooks Payroll (75% similar), and Gusto (73% similar), by the categories, company sizes and pricing model they share. OnPay vs Paychex Flex: Payroll Software score 7.6 vs 7.2.
What is a cheaper alternative to Paychex Flex?
Patriot Payroll: $117 a month at 25 employees; Paychex Flex does not publish comparable prices.
Which Paychex Flex alternatives publish their prices?
Of the alternatives to Paychex Flex, OnPay, QuickBooks Payroll, Gusto, Patriot Payroll, Square Payroll, and SurePayroll publish list prices for at least one plan. Paychex Flex publishes part of its pricing.
Which Paychex Flex alternative scores highest?
QuickBooks Payroll (75% similar to Paychex Flex), with a LeadChange Score of 8.8/10 in Payroll Software against 7.2 for Paychex Flex, among the 3 closest alternatives. For small businesses, Gusto (8.1/10) is the top-scored alternative that lists them as a target.
Why do teams look for Paychex Flex alternatives?
The fit limits documented for Paychex Flex: most packages are priced by request, extra fees on Flex Essentials, and insurance and time tracking are add-ons. The “Why buyers look beyond Paychex Flex” section explains each one from its source.
Which Paychex Flex alternatives integrate with Xero?
OnPay, Gusto, and ADP RUN Powered by ADP list Xero among their notable integrations, like Paychex Flex.
Which Paychex Flex alternatives offer a free trial?
Of the alternatives to Paychex Flex, OnPay, QuickBooks Payroll, and Patriot Payroll list a free trial.
Is QuickBooks Payroll better than Paychex Flex?
QuickBooks Payroll scores 8.8/10 in Payroll Software against 7.2 for Paychex Flex; which fits better depends on your headcount, budget and the modules you need. Feature by feature: Paychex Flex vs QuickBooks Payroll.
How this page was made
What it is built from
40 verified facts, each checked against the vendor's own pages or another primary source, most recently on Oct 12, 2026.
Method
Scored and compared with the LeadChange methodology, version 1.3. Read the methodology
Independent review
Not reviewed yet by our independent reviewer. How we review
Hands-on testing
We have not tested Paychex Flex hands-on: this page uses public information only.
Who made it
The LeadChange Research Team, following a written research process. No named expert has reviewed this page. About us
Independence and errors
Who pays us never changes a score or a rank. If something here is wrong, tell us and we correct it publicly. Request a correction
Switching from Paychex Flex?
Tell us why you’re leaving and when your contract ends, and see the alternatives that fit, with verified evidence for what you need, ranked without regard to who pays us.
Sources
The 20 pages this page's facts come from, with the day we last checked each one. The numbers beside the figures above link here.
Quotes from the sources
- Patriot Software patriotsoftware.com/pricing“If you use Patriot’s payroll software, you will be charged $4 (Basic) or $5 (Full Service) per worker you pay during the month.” “Basic Payroll $17 $8.50 /mo plus $4 $2 per worker paid”
- Intuit quickbooks.intuit.com/payroll/pricing/bundle“Find the right payroll plan for you” “WORKFORCE PAYROLL Pay your team and get payroll taxes done for you. $50 + $7/employee”
- Paycor paycor.com/plans-pricing“50-1000 EMPLOYEES”
- OnPay onpay.com/payroll/software/costs-pricing“Payroll Essentials $49 base + $6/worker per month” “Get started at just $49 base + $6/worker per month. No hidden fees, ever.”
- Gusto gusto.com/product/pricing“Simple Run basic payroll in one state. $49/mo + $6/mo per person”
- Square squareup.com/us/en/payroll/pricing“For full-service payroll, the cost is $35 per month, plus $6 per person paid per month. For contractor-only payroll, the cost is $6 per person paid per month.”
- SurePayroll (Paychex) surepayroll.com/payroll“$20/mo $4 per employee” “The features of our Full Service plan, except you’re responsible for filing and depositing all payroll taxes.”
- Paychex paychex.com/payroll/paychex-flex-essentials“Our most affordable option: Only $39/mo. + $5 per employee”
- Paychex paychex.com/integrations“Plus, Paychex APIs and developer resources make building applications, connections, and solution integrations easier than ever.”
- OnPay onpay.com“Get one month free”
- OnPay onpay.com/security“Third-party Certification: OnPay holds third-party auditor certification with the AICPA’s SOC program and is SOC 2 Type II compliant.”
- Intuit developer.intuit.com/app/developer/payroll-time/docs/faq“For the rest of the Workforce APIs, access to this data is currently restricted to approved partners only. To request access, open a support ticket.”
- Intuit assurance.intuit.com“Our most recent SOC 2 report is for the period of September 1, 2024, to April 30, 2025. Our Next SOC 2 will be released end of October and will cover the period of May 1, 2025 to July 31, 2026.”
- Gusto Payroll (Gusto)“We’ve got all kinds of plans for all sizes of business. Explore all the options. You’ll pay nothing ‘til you’re ready to run payroll.”
- Gusto docs.gusto.com“Leverage Gusto's API to build your own in-app payroll solution, customized for your users' needs, with Gusto Embedded.”
- Patriot Software patriotsoftware.com/about“As a SOC 2 Type II compliant organization, we follow rigorous data protection standards and adhere to all required federal privacy, anti-fraud, and security regulations.”
- ADP adp.com/what-we-offer/payroll/payroll-for-1-49-employees/payroll-packages.aspx“Some payroll plans charge by the number of people paid each payroll cycle. As such, adding employees increases costs while removing employees decreases payroll prices.” “Can I try the product before purchasing it? Use the RUN Powered by ADP self-led demo to see how easy payroll and HR can be.”
- ADP marketplace-cdn.adp.com/dev-portal/pdf/protected/RUN_Powered_by_ADP_API_Catalog“The Marketplace API Catalog for RUN Powered By ADP lists APIs supported by RUN Powered By ADP”
- Square trust.squareup.com/overview“SOC 2 Type II”
- SurePayroll (Paychex) surepayroll.com/pricing“During your first 12 months with SurePayroll, every alternating month will be free.”
Paychex Flex
