Independent research on 253 HR & workforce products. Facts checked against vendors’ official documentation.

We may earn a referral fee. We may earn a referral feeHow we make money

Payroll & Benefits

The Best Benefits Administration Software of 2026

A ranked shortlist of benefits administration software for U.S. employers, scored only from capabilities we confirmed on each vendor's own pages: plan setup, open enrollment, carrier feeds, payroll deduction sync, COBRA, ACA forms and broker access. Each product shows which of these we verified and which are still unconfirmed.

products compared
16
with a published score
6
per employee per month
$6–$124
last updated
See the ranking

LeadChange may earn a fee when you request pricing through our site or follow a sponsored link. Rankings never depend on whether a vendor pays us.We may earn a fee.

Top 3 by LeadChange Score

  1. Employee Navigator7.8
  2. Gusto6.8From $49/mo + $6/employee/mo1
  3. BambooHR6.0

Our top picks

  1. Best overall

    Highest LeadChange Score here (7.8/10), with 8 of 12 core benefits administration capabilities verified.

  2. Best for small businesses

    Gusto

    by Gusto, Inc.

    Highest score among products that list small businesses as a target segment, with pricing and fit weighted more.

    From $49/mo + $6/employee/mo1

LeadChange Score: editorial assessment based on public information.

Benefits Administration ranked by LeadChange Score

Ranked by LeadChange Score from verified facts; products with too few verified facts are not scored yet and come last. Prices are list prices as published by each vendor.

Filter by verified facts

  1. Employee Navigator

    Best for Insurance brokers running benefits for many employer clients

    Employee Navigator is built for brokers who run benefits for many employers: online enrollment, carrier and payroll connections, 834 EDI feeds and ACA forms in one system. It publishes its EDI and ACA fees but quotes its platform plans, and employers usually get it through their broker.

    Pricing model
    Quote only3
    SOC 2 Type II
    Yes4
    What Employee Navigator costs
  2. Gusto

    Best for US small businesses that want payroll tax filing on every plan

    Gusto fits US small businesses that want payroll, benefits and basic HR in one account, with public prices and month-to-month terms. Every plan files payroll taxes and runs unlimited payrolls. Plus adds multi-state payroll and next-day pay, and Premium adds same-day pay and a dedicated account partner.

    Pricing model
    Base fee + per employee1

    From $49/mo + $6/employee/mo1

    Gusto pricing
  3. BambooHR

    Primarily HRIS software; benefits administration module is secondary

    Best for Companies of about 50 to 500 employees, the range BambooHR says it is built for

    BambooHR suits growing US companies that want one HR system of record with public, month-to-month pricing from $10.25 per employee per month. Performance reviews start at Pro and compensation tools at Elite.

    Pricing model
    Per employee5
    SOC 2 Type II
    Yes6
    BambooHR plans and prices
  4. Rippling

    Primarily HRIS software; benefits administration module is secondary

    Best for Companies that want HR, payroll, IT and finance apps on one employee database

    Rippling suits companies that want HR, payroll, IT and finance on one employee database and are ready to buy each product separately. Payroll for small businesses starts at $8 per user per month plus a $40 base fee.

    Pricing model
    Base fee + per employee7
    SOC 2 Type II
    Yes8
    What Rippling costs
  5. TriNet

    Best for Small and mid-size businesses that want a full-service PEO

    TriNet suits small and mid-size businesses that want a PEO with payroll, payroll tax filing, benefits, workers' compensation administration and HR experts in one flat per-employee fee, or the lighter HR Plus (ASO) service without co-employment.

    Pricing model
    Per employee9
    SOC 2 Type II
    Yes10
    TriNet pricing
Show all 16 products
  1. HiBob4.1/10 · High confidenceHiBob pricing
  2. PaycorNot scored yet (16 of 27 facts verified)Paycor pricing
  3. PaylocityNot scored yet (16 of 27 facts verified)Paylocity pricing
  4. NetchexNot scored yet (15 of 27 facts verified)Netchex plans and prices
  5. PaycomNot scored yet (13 of 27 facts verified)Paycom pricing
  6. JustworksNot scored yet (12 of 27 facts verified) · From $124/employee/mo (PEO Plus plan)2Justworks plans and prices
  7. NamelyNot scored yet (11 of 27 facts verified)Namely pricing
  8. ADP Workforce NowNot scored yet (9 of 27 facts verified)What ADP Workforce Now costs
  9. isolved People CloudNot scored yet (9 of 27 facts verified)What isolved People Cloud costs
  10. ADP TotalSourceNot scored yet (7 of 27 facts verified)ADP TotalSource pricing
  11. Paychex PEONot scored yet (6 of 27 facts verified)What Paychex PEO costs

LeadChange Score: editorial assessment based on public information.

How the score works

Find your fit

Compare the top 8 side by side

Benefits Administration comparison: LeadChange Score, pricing and verified features
ProductScorePricing modelOpen APISOC 2 Type IIMobile appsWebhooks
Employee Navigator3,4,11,127.8Quote onlyiOSNot disclosed
Gusto1,13–156.8Base fee + per employeeNot disclosediOS (Gusto Mobile), Android (Gusto Mobile)
BambooHR5,6,16–18Primarily HRIS software; benefits administration module is secondary6.0Per employeeiOS, Android
Rippling7,8,19–21Primarily HRIS software; benefits administration module is secondary6.0Base fee + per employeeiOS, Android
TriNet9,10,22,235.0Per employeeTriNet mobile app (pay stubs, time off)Not disclosed
HiBob24–26Primarily HRIS software; benefits administration module is secondary4.1Per employeeiOS, Android
Paycor27–30Not scoredQuote only
Paylocity31–35Primarily HCM software; benefits administration module is secondaryNot scoredBase fee + per employeeiOS, Android, Apple Watch

Not disclosed = the vendor doesn’t publish it.

Benefits administration software comparison

Pricing at a glance

Monthly list cost from each vendor’s published base and per-employee prices, before discounts.

  • 10 employees

    $109–$1,240/mo

    Median $675/mo

    Published list prices of 2 products at 10 employees

  • 50 employees

    $349–$6,200/mo

    Median $3,275/mo

    Published list prices of 2 products at 50 employees

  • 200 employees

    $1,249–$24,800/mo

    Median $13,025/mo

    Published list prices of 2 products at 200 employees

How the 5 pricing models work
Per employee per month4 of 16 products
A monthly fee per employee. Check whether it counts all employees, benefits-eligible employees or only enrolled ones: BambooHR, for example, bills its benefits add-on on benefits-eligible employees.
Base fee + per employee4 of 16 products
A monthly platform fee plus a per-employee fee, often with a minimum.
Bundled with HRIS
Included in, or sold only with, a payroll or HR plan. HiBob, for example, sells benefits administration only together with its U.S. payroll.
Broker compensated
No separate platform fee when the vendor is also your insurance broker.
Custom quote8 of 16 products
Common for larger or multi-entity employers, with implementation and carrier feeds priced separately.

Benefits administration software pricing

How to choose benefits administration software

6 criteria · Requirements by company size · 5 red flags

The value of benefits software is data accuracy across the chain: what an employee elects, what the carrier receives and what payroll deducts must match every pay period. Judge that chain before the look of the enrollment screens.

In a demo, ask the vendor to run one full cycle in a sandbox with your own rules: set up a plan with your contribution tiers, enroll a new hire after the waiting period, process a mid-year birth or marriage, and show the carrier file and the payroll deduction that result.

  1. Carrier connectivity

    Eligibility errors between you and a carrier lead to coverage disputes, claims denials and premiums for people who left. Some vendors connect to many carriers, others only to select national carriers.

  2. Payroll deduction sync

    Every election must become the right pre-tax or after-tax deduction, starting and stopping on the right pay date. Some vendors sync deductions only with their own payroll product.

  3. Eligibility rules and waiting periods

    Plans differ by class, hours and location, and federal rules cap how long a waiting period for group health coverage can last. A rule built wrongly offers coverage to the wrong people or too late.

  4. Life events and mid-year changes

    Under the Section 125 regulations, a cafeteria plan may allow mid-year election changes only for the events the rules list, and only if your plan document permits them. The system has to mirror your plan, not a generic list.

  5. Dependent verification

    Covering ineligible dependents raises premiums and claims costs. Some tools now review relationship documents automatically; others only store what employees enter.

  6. COBRA administration

    Federal COBRA requires notices and continuation offers when coverage ends for a qualifying event. Software can send notices and collect premiums, but the duty stays with the employer.

Requirements by company size

  • Small businesses

    • Enrollment and deductions inside the payroll you already use
    • Clear rules for owners, part-time staff and waiting periods
    • Help choosing plans if you have no broker

    Watch out for

    • Benefits tools sold only as an add-on or bundle with another product
    • Carrier connections limited to select carriers
    • Compliance features available only with plans bought through the vendor
  • Mid-sized companies

    • Several plans, classes and contribution tiers
    • Automated 834 feeds for each carrier
    • ACA tracking and Forms 1094-C and 1095-C

    Watch out for

    • Carrier files you must send by hand
    • Deduction sync that works only with the vendor's payroll
    • Decision support or COBRA priced separately
  • Enterprises

    • Multiple entities and employer identification numbers
    • Carrier and vendor feeds monitored with error reports
    • Audit trail of every election and eligibility change

    Watch out for

    • Implementation tied to carrier testing schedules
    • Custom feeds or reports priced per request
    • Separate logins for benefits, payroll and HR data

Red flags

  • The vendor cannot show a carrier file or live feed for one of your carriers
  • Elections reach payroll only by manual export
  • COBRA and ACA are described as supported but no notice or form is shown
  • No report that compares carrier invoices with enrollments
  • Go-live scheduled with no time to test carrier files before open enrollment

All comparisons

Popular alternatives

Integrations for benefits administration

Apps with documented integrations across the products ranked on this page.

Most integrated apps

  • Greenhouse6 of 16 products
  • QuickBooks Online6 of 16 products
  • Checkr5 of 16 products
  • Slack5 of 16 products
  • Indeed4 of 16 products
  • Okta4 of 16 products
  • Deputy3 of 16 products
  • Employee Navigator3 of 16 products

Learn

From the leadership library

Glossary

Full HR glossary

Frequently asked questions

What is benefits administration software?

It is software that runs the employer side of benefits: plan and rate setup, eligibility rules, open enrollment, life-event changes and dependents. It sends elections to carriers, usually as an ASC X12 834 enrollment file, and deductions to payroll. Many tools also produce COBRA notices and ACA Forms 1094-C and 1095-C. It records elections; the carrier provides the coverage and a broker usually sells the plans.

What is a benefits administration system?

The same thing: the system of record for who is eligible, what each person elected and when coverage starts and ends. It can be a module of a payroll or HR suite, such as ADP Workforce Now, Paycor, Paylocity or Paycom, or part of a platform where benefits come with payroll, such as Gusto or Rippling. The test is whether its data reaches carriers and payroll without re-keying.

What are the top benefits administration companies?

Our ranking above orders the products we have researched by the LeadChange Score, built from capabilities we verified on each vendor's own pages. It covers payroll and HR suites with benefits modules, platforms where benefits come with payroll, and PEOs that administer benefits for clients. Dedicated benefits platforms such as Benefitfocus, bswift, Employee Navigator and PlanSource are not in our verified catalog yet, so they are not ranked.

Is benefits administration included in payroll or HR software?

Often as an add-on, and scope varies. BambooHR sells it as an add-on whose deduction sync works with BambooHR Payroll, and HiBob sells it only with its U.S. payroll. Bundled tools may handle enrollment and deductions but not every carrier feed, COBRA or invoice reconciliation, so check those before assuming a bundle covers you.

Benefits administration software vs a PEO: which is better?

Software lets you keep your own plans, carriers and broker while automating the work. A PEO co-employs your staff and usually offers its own sponsored plans with administration included, which can widen plan choice for a small group but ties your benefits to the PEO contract. Choose software to keep control of plan design, a PEO to hand off most of the work.

Do I need software if my broker or carrier has a portal?

Not always. A carrier portal handles enrollment for that carrier's plans, and many brokers offer an enrollment tool. You need your own system when you have several carriers, deductions to sync with payroll, COBRA or ACA duties to track, or employees who should see all their benefits in one place.

What is an EDI 834 file?

It is the ASC X12 834 Benefit Enrollment and Maintenance transaction, the standard HIPAA rules adopt for sending enrollment and disenrollment data from a plan sponsor to a health plan. Benefits software uses it to send adds, changes and terminations to carriers automatically, instead of forms or spreadsheets.

When does COBRA apply?

Federal COBRA covers group health plans of most private-sector employers above a small-employer threshold and plans of state and local governments; it does not cover federal or church plans, or plans that provide only life or disability insurance. Plans must give notices and offer continuation coverage after qualifying events such as job loss or reduced hours.

Who must file Forms 1094-C and 1095-C?

Applicable large employers report coverage offers to the IRS on Forms 1094-C and 1095-C and furnish a statement to each full-time employee, even if they offer no coverage. Companies in the same controlled group count together when deciding status, but each files its own forms. Self-insured employers also report who was covered, on Form 1095-C if they are large employers or Forms 1094-B and 1095-B if not.

Can employees change benefits outside open enrollment?

Only for events your plan allows. The Section 125 rules let a cafeteria plan permit mid-year changes for listed events such as marriage, birth or loss of other coverage, but do not require it, and HIPAA gives special enrollment rights for some of these events. Your software should apply your plan's own list and change window.

Does outsourcing benefits administration move the legal risk?

No. The Department of Labor states that employers may hire third-party administrators for COBRA, but compliance remains the employer's responsibility under ERISA. Software and service partners do the work; you still need to check that notices, forms and filings go out correctly.

What is the best benefits administration software?

Employee Navigator has the highest LeadChange Score of the 16 products in our ranking, 7.8 out of 10, ahead of Gusto (6.8) and BambooHR (6.0). Employee Navigator's score rests on 18 of 27 checks verified from public sources. 10 more products are listed without a score until enough of their data is public.

How we research

Ranked by the LeadChange Score, computed only from verified facts: capability coverage (30%), pricing and value (20%), integrations and API (15%), security (15%), fit and support (10%) and data confidence (10%), times a category fit. Products with too few verified facts are not scored yet and come last. Payment never changes a score or a position.

Facts, not impressions · Missing data is never assumed · Independent of revenue
  • Facts, not impressions

    Every input is a fact verified against vendors’ official documentation, with the date we last checked it.

  • Missing data is never assumed

    Unverified items are left out of the score and lower its coverage; below 60% coverage a product is not scored yet.

  • Independent of revenue

    Rankings never depend on whether a vendor pays us.

How this page was made

  • What it is built from

    58 verified facts, each checked against the vendor's own pages or another primary source, most recently on Oct 24, 2026.

  • Method

    Scored and compared with the LeadChange methodology, version 1.3. Read the methodology

  • Independent review

    Not reviewed yet by our independent reviewer. How we review

  • Hands-on testing

    We have not tested these products hands-on: this page uses public information only.

  • Who made it

    The LeadChange Research Team, following a written research process. No named expert has reviewed this page. About us

  • Independence and errors

    Who pays us never changes a score or a rank. If something here is wrong, tell us and we correct it publicly. Request a correction

Get your benefits administration shortlist

Tell us about your team and get a shortlist ranked without regard to who pays us.

Sources

The 43 pages this page's facts come from, with the day we last checked each one. The numbers beside the figures above link here.

Quotes from the sources
  1. Gusto · checked Oct 9, 2026 gusto.com/product/pricing“Simple Run basic payroll in one state. $49/mo + $6/mo per person”
  2. Justworks · checked Oct 12, 2026 justworks.com/pricing“Justworks PEO pricing starts at $79 per month per employee for our Basic plan and $124 per month per employee for our Plus plan. Justworks Payroll customers pay $8 per month per employee plus a $50 base fee.”
  3. Employee Navigator · checked Oct 12, 2026 employeenavigator.com/pricing“Enhanced Online enrollment Carrier, Payroll & TPA integrations Enrollment forms library ACA Reporting AI Plan Builds Contact Sales”
  4. Employee Navigator · checked Oct 12, 2026 employeenavigator.com/security“SOC 2 Type II”
  5. BambooHR · checked Oct 9, 2026 bamboohr.com/pricing“For companies with more than 25 employees, our HR software is priced on a per-employee, per-month basis. BambooHR pricing starts at $10.25 USD per employee per month for Core, $17.50 USD per employee per month for Pro, and $25 USD per employee per month for Elite. Volume discounts are applied automatically”
  6. BambooHR · checked Oct 9, 2026 trust.bamboohr.com“SOC 2 Type 2”
  7. Rippling · checked Oct 9, 2026 rippling.com/pricing“While most Rippling products are billed on a simple per-employee, per-month basis, some may be charged at (or include) a monthly basis fee.”
  8. Rippling · checked Oct 9, 2026 rippling.com/trust/security“Rippling's SOC 2 Type 2 report covers the trust services categories of Security, Confidentiality, and Availability, and is audited annually.”
  9. TriNet · checked Oct 12, 2026 trinet.com/peo/pricing“PEPM stands for "Per Employee Per Month" and is the pricing method TriNet uses to determine your administrative cost.”
  10. TriNet · checked Oct 12, 2026 assets.contentstack.io/v3/assets/blt9ccc5b591c9e2640/blt2147f424591a508f/657239817631d147b77ffb80/TriNet_Security_and_Privacy_White_Paper_2023.pdf“TriNet has both a SOC 1 Type 2 report and a SOC 2 Type 2 report for the TriNet platform.”
  11. Employee Navigator · checked Oct 12, 2026 employeenavigator.com/employee-navigator-releases-api-models-to-speed-the-digitization-of-employee-benefit-administration“Employee Navigator today released its Company Integration and Company Benefit Details Application Program Interfaces (APIs) to support real-time integrations between Employee Navigator’s benefit administration platform, health insurance carriers, and employee benefit providers.”
  12. Apple App Store · checked Oct 12, 2026 apps.apple.com/us/app/employee-navigator/id6797508874“Check your coverage, complete open enrollment, process life events, and review your benefits, all from your mobile phone.”
  13. Gusto · checked Oct 9, 2026 docs.gusto.com“Leverage Gusto's API to build your own in-app payroll solution, customized for your users' needs, with Gusto Embedded.”
  14. Gusto · checked Oct 9, 2026 Payroll (Gusto)“Yes, you can run payroll, check payroll status, add and view team members and manage your team all from the Gusto mobile app. Download the iOS app here and the Google Play app here.”
  15. Gusto · checked Oct 9, 2026 docs.gusto.com/embedded-payroll/docs/webhooks“A webhook is an HTTP request that delivers information about an event as it happens.”
  16. BambooHR · checked Oct 9, 2026 documentation.bamboohr.com/docs/getting-started“The BambooHR API is a RESTful Internet protocol built around making semantically meaningful HTTPS requests”
  17. BambooHR · checked Oct 9, 2026 bamboohr.com/platform/hr-data-and-reporting/mobile-app“Yes, the BambooHR Mobile App is free to download. You’ll need an active BambooHR account provided by your employer to access its features and functionality.”
  18. BambooHR · checked Oct 9, 2026 documentation.bamboohr.com/docs/webhooks“Webhooks are tools that allow external services to be notified when certain actions occur within your BambooHR account. When a specified event happens, like an update to employee information, BambooHR sends an HTTP POST request containing relevant data to a URL you specify.”
  19. Rippling · checked Oct 9, 2026 developer.rippling.com/llms.txt“Rippling’s current public API is the REST Platform API v2 on `https://rest.ripplingapis.com`. ... Authenticate customer and internal integrations with a Bearer API token. Authenticate App Shop partner apps with OAuth 2.0.”
  20. Rippling (Apple App Store listing) · checked Oct 9, 2026 apps.apple.com/us/app/rippling-hr-it-finance/id1231325957“Rippling makes it easy to access your benefits, request time off, submit expenses, view paystubs, share passwords, and more—all from your phone. ... Requires iOS 16.4 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.”
  21. Rippling · checked Oct 9, 2026 rippling.com/platform/tiers“Webhooks in Workflows Allow one app to send automated notifications to another when specific events occur.”
  22. TriNet · checked Oct 12, 2026 trinet.com/customer-resource-center/technology/integration-center“For more complex needs, TriNet APIs give developers the freedom to build upon integration from the TriNet platform and other applications for easy data flow.”
  23. TriNet · checked Oct 12, 2026 trinet.com/peo“Our platform also lets your employees view pay stubs and request time off conveniently from our mobile app.”
  24. HiBob · checked Oct 9, 2026 hibob.com/pricing-plans“Is HiBob priced per employee? Yes, of course. HiBob pricing is generally calculated on a per-employee basis, making it easy to scale as your organization grows.” “Core includes: ... Mobile App”
  25. HiBob · checked Oct 9, 2026 apidocs.hibob.com“Welcome to the Developer Docs. Here you'll find clear, practical documentation to help you get started with the Public API and build integrations with Bob.” “React to changes with webhooks Subscribe to events and keep external systems in sync when Bob data changes.”
  26. HiBob · checked Oct 9, 2026 hibob.com/privacy/security“SOC 2 Type II We undergo routine audits to receive updated SOC 2 Type II reports, available upon request and subject to a signed NDA.”
  27. Paycor · checked Oct 12, 2026 paycor.com/plans-pricing“Answer a few questions to get a custom price quote if you're a small business or view our mid-market product plans.”
  28. Paycor · checked Oct 12, 2026 paycor.com/compliance-solutions/security“Multi-tenant architecture, Cloud-native features, Microservices, and Open APIs” “Paycor is accredited by and compliant with GDPR, FinCEN, US Privacy Shield, SOC 1 Type 2, and SOC 2 Type 2 security standards.”
  29. Paycor · checked Oct 12, 2026 paycor.com“EMPLOYEE MOBILE APP”
  30. Paycor Developers Portal · checked Oct 12, 2026 developers.paycor.com/guides“To receive event notifications, you must provide the Event Notification URL to where you want us to send events on the Event Subscription tab.”
  31. U.S. SEC (Paylocity Form 10-K) · checked Oct 9, 2026 sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1591698/000159169826000069/pcty-20260630.htm“Recurring fees for each client generally include a base fee in addition to a fee based on the number of client employees and the number of products a client uses.”
  32. Paylocity · checked Oct 9, 2026 developer.paylocity.com/integrations/docs/getting-started“Paylocity offers access to APIs that allow customers and partners to access desired data quickly and securely for building integrations.”
  33. Paylocity · checked Oct 9, 2026 paylocity.com/company/protecting-our-clients“We engage reputable audit firms who perform annual independent attestations for SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II, which cover controls related to financial reporting, security, confidentiality, and availability.”
  34. Paylocity · checked Oct 9, 2026 paylocity.com/products/capabilities/mobile“To download Paylocity's HR & payroll Mobile App, simply visit your device's app store (e.g., Google Play Store for Android or App Store for iOS).”
  35. Paylocity · checked Oct 9, 2026 developer.paylocity.com/integrations/reference/webhooks-overview“Webhooks are automated JSON POST messages transmitted via HTTPS, sent to a unique URL that you've configured for your system to listen for these notifications.”
  36. dol.gov · checked Oct 26, 2026 DOL: Continuation of Health Coverage (COBRA)
  37. dol.gov · checked Oct 26, 2026 DOL EBSA: An Employer's Guide to Group Health Continuation Coverage Under COBRA
  38. irs.gov · checked Oct 26, 2026 IRS: Information reporting by applicable large employers
  39. irs.gov · checked Oct 26, 2026 IRS: Information reporting by providers of minimum essential coverage
  40. ecfr.gov · checked Oct 26, 2026 45 CFR 162.1502: Standards for enrollment and disenrollment in a health plan transaction
  41. ecfr.gov · checked Oct 26, 2026 26 CFR 1.125-4: Permitted election changes
  42. ecfr.gov · checked Oct 26, 2026 29 CFR 2590.715-2708: Prohibition on waiting periods that exceed 90 days
  43. irs.gov · checked Oct 26, 2026 IRS: Identifying full-time employees

What the LeadChange Score means

A 0–10 editorial assessment built only from verified facts, across six weighted dimensions: capabilities, pricing, integrations, security, fit and support, and data confidence.

Payments, commissions and lead fees are never inputs.