ADP RUN Powered by ADP
Best ADP RUN Powered by ADP Alternatives
10 products that do the same job as ADP RUN Powered by ADP, matched to the reason you might switch, with similarity scores and published prices.
LeadChange may earn a fee when you request pricing through our site or follow a sponsored link. Rankings never depend on whether a vendor pays us.We may earn a fee.
How we make money
LeadChange may earn a fee when you request pricing through our site or follow a sponsored link. Rankings never depend on whether a vendor pays us.
ADP RUN Powered by ADP alternatives, closest first
GustoSimilarity 68
Paychex FlexSimilarity 65
Patriot PayrollSimilarity 63
Alternatives by reason for switching
Lower published price
$117 a month at 25 employees; ADP RUN Powered by ADP does not publish comparable prices.
$17/mo + $4/employee/mo (you file taxes)1
Published pricing
Built for larger companies
Free trial
Free trial
Higher LeadChange Score
8.1/10 in Payroll Software vs 3.8 for ADP RUN Powered by ADP.
ADP RUN Powered by ADP alternatives, closest first
Products built for the same job come first, then products that also cover it, each group by similarity: the share of categories (50%), company sizes served (30%) and pricing model (20%) a product shares with ADP RUN Powered by ADP.
Built for the same job
Gusto
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Publishes its prices; ADP RUN Powered by ADP is quote-only. Payroll Software score 8.1 vs 3.8.
Gusto vs ADP RUN Powered by ADPGusto pricing
Similarity68 of 100From $49/mo + $6/employee/mo6

Paychex Flex
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Payroll Software score 7.2 vs 3.8.
ADP RUN Powered by ADP vs Paychex FlexPaychex Flex pricing
Similarity65 of 100From $39/mo + $5/employee/mo (up to 19 employees)7

Patriot Payroll
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Publishes its prices; ADP RUN Powered by ADP is quote-only. Payroll Software score 9.3 vs 3.8.
Patriot Payroll vs ADP RUN Powered by ADPPatriot Payroll pricing
Similarity63 of 100From $17/mo + $4/employee/mo (you file taxes)1

Square Payroll
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Publishes its prices; ADP RUN Powered by ADP is quote-only.
Square Payroll vs ADP RUN Powered by ADPSquare Payroll plans and prices
Similarity55 of 100From $35/mo + $6/employee/mo8

SurePayroll
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Publishes its prices; ADP RUN Powered by ADP is quote-only. Payroll Software score 5.0 vs 3.8.
Similarity55 of 100From $20/mo + $4/employee/mo (you file taxes)9

OnPay
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Publishes its prices; ADP RUN Powered by ADP is quote-only. Payroll Software score 7.6 vs 3.8.
Similarity53 of 100From $49/mo + $6/employee/mo (Payroll Essentials plan)10

Paycor
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Payroll Software score 6.3 vs 3.8.
Similarity51 of 100
Netchex
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Payroll Software score 4.8 vs 3.8.
Similarity49 of 100
QuickBooks Payroll
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Publishes its prices; ADP RUN Powered by ADP is quote-only. Payroll Software score 8.8 vs 3.8.
QuickBooks Payroll vs ADP RUN Powered by ADPWhat QuickBooks Payroll costs
Similarity40 of 100From $50/mo + $7/employee/mo2
Also cover what ADP RUN Powered by ADP does

UKG Ready
vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: No list price or score published for both UKG Ready and ADP RUN Powered by ADP yet.
Similarity55 of 100
Why buyers look beyond ADP RUN Powered by ADP
Quote-only pricing
No package price is published. Each package leads to a quote form or the sales line, so costs can't be compared up front.
Extra fees for forms and extra runs
W-2 and 1099 forms cost extra, and payroll fees rise with each off-cycle run. ADP publishes no amounts for these fees.
Insurance and time tracking are add-ons
Time and attendance, retirement plans, workers' compensation and health insurance are add-ons in every package.
No trial account
ADP offers a self-guided demo, not a trial account.
ADP RUN Powered by ADP vs its closest alternatives
| Product | Score | Starting price per employee | Starting base fee | Pricing model | Free trial | Open API | SOC 2 Type II |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ADP RUN Powered by ADP11,12 | 3.8 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Quote only | No | Yes | Not disclosed |
| 8.1 | $6/employee/mo | $49/mo | Base fee + per employee | No | Yes | Not disclosed | |
Paychex Flex7,15 | 7.2 | $5/employee/mo | $39/mo | Base fee + per employee | Not disclosed | Yes | Not disclosed |
Patriot Payroll1,16 | 9.3 | $4/employee/mo | $17/mo | Base fee + per employee | Yes | Not disclosed | Yes |
Square Payroll8,17 | Not scored | $6/employee/mo | $35/mo | Base fee + per employee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Yes |
SurePayroll9,18 | 5.0 | $4/employee/mo | $20/mo | Base fee + per employee | No | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
OnPay10,19,20 | 7.6 | $6/employee/mo | $49/mo | Base fee + per employee | Yes | Not disclosed | Yes |
Paycor3,21 | 6.3 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Quote only | Not disclosed | Yes | Yes |
Not disclosed = the vendor doesn’t publish it.
ADP RUN Powered by ADP comparisons
Alternatives to similar products
Frequently asked questions
What are the best alternatives to ADP RUN Powered by ADP?
The closest alternatives to ADP RUN Powered by ADP in Payroll Software are Gusto (68% similar), Paychex Flex (65% similar), and Patriot Payroll (63% similar), by the categories, company sizes and pricing model they share. Gusto vs ADP RUN Powered by ADP: Publishes its prices; ADP RUN Powered by ADP is quote-only. Payroll Software score 8.1 vs 3.8.
What is a cheaper alternative to ADP RUN Powered by ADP?
Patriot Payroll: $117 a month at 25 employees; ADP RUN Powered by ADP does not publish comparable prices.
Which ADP RUN Powered by ADP alternatives publish their prices?
Of the alternatives to ADP RUN Powered by ADP, Gusto, Paychex Flex, Patriot Payroll, Square Payroll, SurePayroll, and OnPay publish list prices for at least one plan. ADP RUN Powered by ADP prices by quote.
Which ADP RUN Powered by ADP alternative scores highest?
Patriot Payroll (63% similar to ADP RUN Powered by ADP), with a LeadChange Score of 9.3/10 in Payroll Software against 3.8 for ADP RUN Powered by ADP, among the 3 closest alternatives. For small businesses, Gusto (8.1/10) is the top-scored alternative that lists them as a target.
Why do teams look for ADP RUN Powered by ADP alternatives?
The fit limits documented for ADP RUN Powered by ADP: quote-only pricing, extra fees for forms and extra runs, and insurance and time tracking are add-ons. The “Why buyers look beyond ADP RUN Powered by ADP” section explains each one from its source.
Which ADP RUN Powered by ADP alternatives integrate with QuickBooks?
Gusto and UKG Ready list QuickBooks among their notable integrations, like ADP RUN Powered by ADP.
Which ADP RUN Powered by ADP alternatives offer a free trial?
Of the alternatives to ADP RUN Powered by ADP, Patriot Payroll, OnPay, and QuickBooks Payroll list a free trial; ADP RUN Powered by ADP does not.
Is Patriot Payroll better than ADP RUN Powered by ADP?
Patriot Payroll scores 9.3/10 in Payroll Software against 3.8 for ADP RUN Powered by ADP; which fits better depends on your headcount, budget and the modules you need. Feature by feature: ADP RUN Powered by ADP vs Patriot Payroll.
How this page was made
What it is built from
41 verified facts, each checked against the vendor's own pages or another primary source, most recently on Oct 24, 2026.
Method
Scored and compared with the LeadChange methodology, version 1.3. Read the methodology
Independent review
Not reviewed yet by our independent reviewer. How we review
Hands-on testing
We have not tested ADP RUN Powered by ADP hands-on: this page uses public information only.
Who made it
The LeadChange Research Team, following a written research process. No named expert has reviewed this page. About us
Independence and errors
Who pays us never changes a score or a rank. If something here is wrong, tell us and we correct it publicly. Request a correction
Switching from ADP RUN Powered by ADP?
Tell us why you’re leaving and when your contract ends, and see the alternatives that fit, with verified evidence for what you need, ranked without regard to who pays us.
Sources
The 21 pages this page's facts come from, with the day we last checked each one. The numbers beside the figures above link here.
Quotes from the sources
- Patriot Software patriotsoftware.com/pricing“If you use Patriot’s payroll software, you will be charged $4 (Basic) or $5 (Full Service) per worker you pay during the month.” “Basic Payroll $17 $8.50 /mo plus $4 $2 per worker paid”
- Intuit quickbooks.intuit.com/payroll/pricing/bundle“Find the right payroll plan for you” “WORKFORCE PAYROLL Pay your team and get payroll taxes done for you. $50 + $7/employee”
- Paycor paycor.com/plans-pricing“50-1000 EMPLOYEES” “Answer a few questions to get a custom price quote if you're a small business or view our mid-market product plans.”
- Hypepotamus hypepotamus.com/startup-news/onpay-atlanta-raises-100-million“The funds will be used to further its mission of supporting small and mid-sized businesses (SMBs) across the United States, according to a press release.”
- Rippling rippling.com/products/it/trial“Start your 14-day free trial”
- Gusto gusto.com/product/pricing“Simple Run basic payroll in one state. $49/mo + $6/mo per person”
- Paychex paychex.com/payroll/paychex-flex-essentials“Our most affordable option: Only $39/mo. + $5 per employee”
- Square squareup.com/us/en/payroll/pricing“For full-service payroll, the cost is $35 per month, plus $6 per person paid per month. For contractor-only payroll, the cost is $6 per person paid per month.”
- SurePayroll (Paychex) surepayroll.com/payroll“$20/mo $4 per employee” “The features of our Full Service plan, except you’re responsible for filing and depositing all payroll taxes.”
- OnPay onpay.com/payroll/software/costs-pricing“Payroll Essentials $49 base + $6/worker per month” “Get started at just $49 base + $6/worker per month. No hidden fees, ever.”
- ADP adp.com/what-we-offer/payroll/payroll-for-1-49-employees/payroll-packages.aspx“Some payroll plans charge by the number of people paid each payroll cycle. As such, adding employees increases costs while removing employees decreases payroll prices.” “Can I try the product before purchasing it? Use the RUN Powered by ADP self-led demo to see how easy payroll and HR can be.”
- ADP marketplace-cdn.adp.com/dev-portal/pdf/protected/RUN_Powered_by_ADP_API_Catalog“The Marketplace API Catalog for RUN Powered By ADP lists APIs supported by RUN Powered By ADP”
- Gusto Payroll (Gusto)“We’ve got all kinds of plans for all sizes of business. Explore all the options. You’ll pay nothing ‘til you’re ready to run payroll.”
- Gusto docs.gusto.com“Leverage Gusto's API to build your own in-app payroll solution, customized for your users' needs, with Gusto Embedded.”
- Paychex paychex.com/integrations“Plus, Paychex APIs and developer resources make building applications, connections, and solution integrations easier than ever.”
- Patriot Software patriotsoftware.com/about“As a SOC 2 Type II compliant organization, we follow rigorous data protection standards and adhere to all required federal privacy, anti-fraud, and security regulations.”
- Square trust.squareup.com/overview“SOC 2 Type II”
- SurePayroll (Paychex) surepayroll.com/pricing“During your first 12 months with SurePayroll, every alternating month will be free.”
- OnPay onpay.com“Get one month free”
- OnPay onpay.com/security“Third-party Certification: OnPay holds third-party auditor certification with the AICPA’s SOC program and is SOC 2 Type II compliant.”
- Paycor paycor.com/compliance-solutions/security“Multi-tenant architecture, Cloud-native features, Microservices, and Open APIs” “Paycor is accredited by and compliant with GDPR, FinCEN, US Privacy Shield, SOC 1 Type 2, and SOC 2 Type 2 security standards.”
ADP RUN Powered by ADP
